Loaded Veggie Quesadillas interpreted from “Simply Love Food”

Confession: I may be a bit of a quesadilla addict. There are so many different types of quesadilla recipes to try that it is impossible to get bored with them. They’re the perfect meal that is completely satisfying whether it’s for lunch, dinner, or maybe even a late night snack. The cheese, vegetables, or meat choice can vary depending on the cook’s preferences, and last night I decided I was in the mood for a filling vegetarian meal.

I had an assortment of vegetables in the refrigerator that were begging to be cooked, including red and yellow bell peppers, zucchini, squash, corn, spinach, red onion and tomato. I logged onto Pinterest to search for a delicious veggie quesadilla recipe, and stumbled upon a blog called “Simply Love Food”. The category for the quesadilla page was called “Meals Full of Color”.

This category name stood out to me above all the others because my mom has always said  “the more colorful a meal is, the healthier it is!” I always think of her when I cook with colorful vegetables and love the aesthetically pleasing bonus that vitamin packed veggies provide.

I checked out the recipe and ran to the store to buy black beans and green hatch chiles- the only ingredients from the recipe that I was missing. After loading my wheat tortillas with all the vegetables, black beans, and pepper jack cheese, I let a tablespoon of butter melt on the skillet and then placed the quesadilla on the pan.

Flipping the quesadilla while simulatenously preventing any veggies from slipping out is the tricky part, but even if they do they are just as delicious when placed right on top of the tortilla. The recipe turned out as scrumptious as expected, however unlike the colorful food blogger, I prefer the cilantro inside the tortilla rather than on the outside. That way, all the flavors combine and create one irresistible vegetarian meal! I highly recommend this dish and appreciate how easy it was to follow the Pinterest recipe.

Enjoy!

Jess

IMG_0541 (1)

^^ Loaded Veggie Quesadillas by “Interpretations of Pinterest Creations”

Veggie-quesadilla3-300x199

^^ Loaded Veggie Quesadillas by “Simply Love Food”

http://simplylovefood.com/2011/11/26/loaded-veggie-quesadillas/

 

Leave a Reply

